The Haunted Fyvie Castle
Ghost And Demons 1/22/12
By: Yona Williams
Located in the village of the same name, Fyvie Castle is found in Aberdeenshire, Scotland. The rich history of the castle includes a cast of characters, such as Robert the Bruce and William the Lion. In this article, you will learn more about the haunted history of Fyvie Castle.
The oldest parts of the structure date back to the 13th century, where some say it was constructed by William the Lion in 1211. The castle's rich history includes an open-air court held by Robert the Bruce and childhood memories of Charles I since he lived there as a kid. However, after the Battle of Otterburn in 1390, the building was no longer a royal stronghold. Possession of the castle went to several different families, including the Prestons, Meldrums, Setons, Gordons and the Leiths. Every time a new family took over the castle, a new tower was added.
Inside of the castle, you will find a great wheel stair, a collection of portraits, and original arms and armor on display. The Fyvie Castle is no stranger to tales of spirits and ghosts. It is said that during renovation work on the castle in 1920, the skeleton of a woman was discovered behind a bedroom wall. On the day that the remains were laid to rest, strange things started to happen. Odd noises were heard. Unexplained events took place. The events were so strong that the Laird of the castle believed that he had offended the dead woman, so he had the skeleton exhumed and replaced behind the bedroom wall. Afterwards, the haunting stopped.
The site is thought haunted by a 'Green Lady', who is believed to be the specter of Lilias Drummond Ã¢â‚¬â€œ the wife of Alexander Seton. Stories say that she was starved to death by her husband or she died of a broken heart. Seton then went on to marry a woman named Grizel Leslie just months after Lilias died. Soon after they were married, it is said that her ghost carved her name on the stone window sill of the newlyweds. To this day, 'D(ame) LILIAS DRUMMOND is clearly visible on the sill. Her ghost seems to like to appear on the main turnpike stair.
Legend has it that there is a secret room located in the southwest corner of the castle that must be kept sealed. If anyone enters the room, they will encounter bad fortune. It is unclear whether or not this is the same room that the skeleton was discovered, but it is a room to be avoided. The castle also has a blood stain that ceased to be removed, two other ghosts, and rumors of two curses Ã¢â‚¬â€œ one of which is linked to the prophetic laird, Thomas the Rhymer.
The castle is a popular destination for paranormal hunters and has been featured in a variety of TV shows. Nowadays, the castle is owned by the National Trust for Scotland and visited by tourists during the summer months.