Ancient Egyptian Timeline: 1380 BC to 730 BC

1380 BC: Amenhotep III instructs the building of the Temple of Luxor. When he died, the country was at the peak of its power with great influence over others. At the time of his death, Egypt was highly respected by the rest of the world.

1367 – 1350 BC: We see the rule of Amenhotep IV (also known as Akhenaton). He becomes responsible for changing the ancient Egyptian society from a polytheistic to a monotheistic system.

1336 – 1327 BC: Tutankhamon rules over Egypt.

1295-1186 BC: During the 19th Dynasty, a great deal of monuments is restored due to Seti I’s efforts. At his temple located Abydos, a wall relief displaying some of the best carvings is created. This time period also highlights numerous battles and treaties that took place between Egypt and Asiatic powers.

1279 – 1213 BC: Construction projects associated with Ramses II start, which includes his mortuary temple called The Ramesseum, which was situated on the West Bank close to Luxor).

1186-1069 BC: The 20th Dynasty takes over, which sees a shift from the chaos that temporarily plagued the country, Setakht is successful in restoring order. During this time, one of the greatest kings of Egypt rules ,
Ramesses III , who archeologists discovered had a conspiracy against his life when he was in charge. Papyrus trial transcripts have been found with details.

1186 – 1089 BC: The Royal Tombs located in the Valley of the Kings is ransacked by thieves.  

1070-945 BC: The 21st Dynasty. Kings hold weaker positions and Egypt no longer enjoys the international acclaim and power that it once had. Due to war throughout the country and foreign invasions , Egypt greatly suffers. The capital is moved from Tanis to Libyan, followed by several other changes. The capital will shift to Thebesm Sais, Nubia (again), and finally to Thebes again.
1069 BC Civil War breaks out.

1069 – 1043 BC: Evidence shows that the techniques used during the mummification process have improved.

984 BC: Osorkon the Elder is the fifth king during the 21st Dynasty, becoming the first pharaoh of Libyan heritage.

945-712 BC: The 22nd Dynasty takes place.
828-725 BC: The 23rd Dynasty takes place.

730 BC: The Conquest of Egypt takes the lead from Kush , a civilization that focused on the joining of the Blue Nile and the White Nile. During early times, Kush was known for establishing civilizations located in the Nile River Valley. The Kushites laid their monarchs to rest with their noblemen in mass gravesites. They also established burial mounds and pyramids. They even shared some of the same gods that Egyptians worshipped with a particular fondness for Amon and Isis. In the past, the Egyptians had gained control of Kush in 1520 BC, but slowly their power weakened over a course of 500 years. The Kushites finally became an independent group. On separate occasions, Kashta and Piankhy would take the Kushites lead and conquer parts of Egypt.