Symbolism of Stars in Christianity

Stars play an important role in various religions and while you may think five points is the norm, there are different numbers of points to a star that come with their own meanings. In this article, you will learn more about the symbolism of stars in regards to the Christian faith.

4-Pointed Star

A star with four points serves as a symbol in Christianity that typically resembles a cross. Some people call this kind of star the Star of Bethlehem or the natal star because it is representative of the birth of Jesus and the history surrounding his birth. During the Advent and Christmas season, it is not uncommon to see a four-pointed star as a church decoration. A reference to the star in the Bible is found in Numbers 24:17 , “I see him, but not now; I behold him, but not near. A star will come out of Jacob; a scepter will rise out of Israel.”

5-Pointed Star

A star with five points (the most popular seen across religions and common culture) is also referred to as the Star of Bethlehem, just like the four-pointed star. The star serves as a symbol of the birth of Jesus and incarnation. Others call the five-pointed star the Epiphany Star, which is also seen in church decoration during the Christmas and Advent seasons.

6-Pointed Star

Stars with six points have a deep ancient history that has been connected to many other religions with a range of meanings. In regards to Christianity, the star with six points is known as the Creator’s Star (or the Star of Creation). Each of the points represents the six days of creation, and is also representative of six attributes associated with God , love, mercy, power, wisdom, majesty, and justice. The six-pointed star is also a symbol of Judaism in modern-day Israel, which is called the Star of David.

8-Pointed Star

The number eight is a traditional digit that is associated with regeneration. The eight-pointed star serves as a symbol of baptism and is often referred to as the Star of Redemption (or Regeneration). This is why baptismal fonts (a part of church furniture or a fixture that is used for the baptism of children and adults) tend to have an octagonal base. The number eight is also significant because Jesus was circumcised and named when he was eight days old , keeping in line with the traditional Jewish practice. In the New Testament, baptism is seen as the same as circumcision.

9-Pointed Star

A star with nine points is a symbol of the nine fruits of the Spirit that is listed in the Epistle to the Galatians. The star sometimes appears with the Latin initials for each of the fruits, which are placed within the points.

12-Pointed Star

A star with twelve points is sometimes used to represent the 12 tribes of Israel or the 12 Apostles. Others use the star to refer to the twelfth day of Christmas, which is a time when the church celebrates the manifestation of Christ as the Son of God.