Boldly Go Where No Man Has Gone Before

U.S.S. EnterpriseIt is hard to believe that the original Star Trek television series only lasted for three seasons. From 1966-1969, Gene Rodenberry created and set the stage for a wide-range of imaginative storylines involving space exploration and the unknown. It was the adventures of the U.S.S. Enterprise that we tuned into each week, later influencing younger generations to come. The series is so popular that YOU must be an alien if you haven’t heard of a “Trekkie.”


The Plot


The plot of Star Trek followed the U.S.S. Enterprise as it embarked on a mission that was supposed to last five years. They represented the United Federation of Planets and their goal was to explore new worlds, find new life forms, as well as make contact with newfound civilizations. Although it is stated that the crew numbered close to 430, we mainly focused on Captain James T. Kirk; Mr. Spock (First Officer); Lt. Cmdr. Leonard ‘Bones’ McCoy, M.D. (Medical Officer); Lt. Nyota Uhura; Lt. Hikaru Sulu; and Lt. Cmdr. Montgomery ‘Scotty’ Scott. Throughout their journeys, aliens attacked and various dilemmas involving computers, time paradoxes and enemies were encountered.


After the Original TV Series


After the original Star Trek, which lasted 80 episodes, there were five additional Star Trek installations entertaining the masses. Following the original Star Trek series, there was an animated series called: Star Trek: The Animated Series. It lasted for two seasons, from 1973-74, showcasing some of the original voices from the TV series.


Providing Star Trek fans with the most episodes out of all the series is Star Trek: The Next Generation, beginning in 1987 and ending in 1994. This series starred Patrick Stewart as Captain Jean -Luc Picard. Additional main characters included: Commander William Thomas Riker (Executive Officer); Lt. Commander Data; Lt. Commander Deanna Troi (Ship’s Counselor); Commander Geordi La Forge (Chief Engineering Officer); Lt. Work; and Commander Beverly Crusher. From this particular television series, four movies were made using the same characters: Star Trek: Generations; Star Trek: First Contact; Star Trek: Insurrection; and Star Trek: Nemesis.


Following the Next Generation was 176 episodes of Deep Space Nine, which debuted in 1993, lasting seven seasons. In this series, we have main characters, such as Cmdr./Capt. Benjamin Lafayette Sisko; Constable Odo; Lt. Cmdr. Worf (who appeared in seven seasons of Star Trek: The Next Generation); Lt. Cmdr. Jadzia Dax; Quark; Chief Miles Edward O’Brien; and Dr. Julian Bashir.


Whereas Deep Six Nine showed the first black captain, Star Trek: Voyager offered audiences the only female captain in all of the series. Lasting for seven seasons, from 1995-2001, this series installation offered characters, such as Captain Kathryn Janeway (played by Kate Mulgrew); Commander Chakotay; Lt. Tuvok; Harry Kim; Neelix (Chef & Morale Officer); Seven of Nine (played by Jeri Ryan).


From 2001-2005, the last installation of Star Trek television series (so far) is called Star Trek: Enterprise, producing 98 episodes. The list of characters presented within Enterprise included Captain Jonathan Archer (played by Scott Bakula); Sub-Commander T’Pol; Commander Charles “Trip” Tucker III; Lt. Malcolm Reed; Hoshi Sato; Travis Mayweather; and Phylox (the Doctor).